Our Team

Marilyn Beck

Marilyn is the Concord Township Democratic Committeewoman. She is a volunteer extraordinaire having helped with numerous campaigns and causes over the years—writing postcards, dropping lit, working polls, making calls, knocking doors, and collecting signatures for the Right to Work initiative petition.

Sara Hellwege

Sara contributes content to South County Democratic Club’s website and social media pages. In 2022, she was a campaign team member for the Democratic candidate for State Representative HD-96, Leslie Derrington. Sara is also an advocate for public policies that support Parkinson’s research and care. She resides within Concord Township.

Diane Kasten

Diane is the Lemay Township Democratic Committeewoman and sits on the MDP State Committee for Senate District 1. She had planned to start a relaxing retirement in 2016, but instead she got involved in Missouri politics. She is active in her local League of Women Voters and supports many grassroots organizations.

Laura Metz

Laura is the Tesson Ferry Township Democratic Committeewoman and President of the Tesson Ferry Democratic Organization. She is on the Executive Board of the Hagemann Elementary Parent Organization as CAC Rep. Laura is a strong advocate for public schools. She campaigned for Prop R (2015) through Prop E (2023) in the Mehlville School District as well as for a recent school board candidate.

Will Oetting

Will is the Deputy Treasurer of the South County Democrat Club. He also oversees our website and does all things IT. He is on the 2024 campaign team for Kyle Kerns, Democratic candidate for State Representative HD-94, as he was in 2022. He resides within Tesson Ferry Township.

Ann Zimpfer

Ann is a retired teacher, teaching in the Mehlville School District for over 25 years. In 2020 and 2022, she was the Democratic candidate for State Representative HD-95. Ann is currently on the Oakville Township Executive Board and a 2024 Policy Council Member for the National Women’s Political Caucus St. Louis Chapter. She also sits on the Mehlville School District Legislative Advocacy Committee.

Tim Zimpfer

Tim is Treasurer of the South County Democratic Club. He currently sits on the Board of Directors of Team Activities for Special Kids (TASK). In 2023, Tim was the recipient of the St. Louis County Democratic Central Committee’s Thomas Eagleton Grassroots Award in recognition of his outstanding leadership supporting Democratic efforts in South County.


Our organization increases Democratic visibility and representation in South County by providing opportunities for broad-minded voters of all ages to actively engage with members of their community, care for their neighbors, and participate in the democratic process.


To energize disengaged members of the community to exercise their right to vote. To empower a dedicated network of volunteers who support the campaigns of local and state Democratic candidates. 

To elect more local and state Democratic leaders who are committed to being a voice for all Missourians.



We value the transformative impact of collaboration. 

Civic Engagement 

We acknowledge the importance of participation in democracy and being active members in our community.

Our Community

South County Democratic Club unites the townships of Concord, Gravois, Lemay, Oakville, and Tesson Ferry in south St. Louis County, Missouri. 

These townships cover portions of census-designated places in unincorporated St. Louis County including Affton, Concord, Lemay, Mehlville, Oakville, and Sappington and parts of the municipalities of Bella Villa, Crestwood, Fenton, Grantwood Village, Green Park, Lakeshire, Oakland, and Sunset Hills. 

Affton School District, Lindbergh Schools, Mehlville School District, Hancock Place School District, and Bayless School District provide public education to the children in these townships.

Help Us Empower

We want you to join us in our mission to Energize. Empower. Elect.